Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, New Orleans, Louisiana

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Events and Attractions in Algiers, New Orleans & Louisiana

E-mail Print PDF

EVENTS & ATTRACTIONS IN ALGIERS, NEW ORLEANS & LOUISIANA

Interested in all things Algiers, New Orleans or Louisiana? Check these sites out:

Algiers, New Orleans & Louisiana:

Algiers Historical Society - www.algiershistoricalsociety.org

Neighborhood businesses:

The Crown & Anchor English Pub (on the next block) - www.crownanchor.com

Vine & Dine Wine Bar & Bistro - www.vine-dine.com

Tout de Suite Cafe - www.toutedesuitecafe.com

Appetite Repair Shop (gourmet food to go)

The Dry Dock Cafe & Bar - www.thedrydockcafe.com

Old Point Bar - www.oldpointbarnola.com (music bar)

Rose Tree Blown Glass - www.rosetreegallery.com

Algiers Point Association - www.algierspoint.org

 

Things to do in New Orleans - www.zerve.com/d/new-orleans-city - all kinds of New Orleans events to participate in

Forthcoming Events - www.neworleansonline.com/calendar

New Orleans News & Times-Picayune Newspaper - www.nola.com

"Offbeat" - New Orleans & Louisiana Music Magazine - www.offbeat.com

New Orleans Magazine - http://www.myneworleans.com/New-Orleans-Magazine/

Louisiana Life Magazine - http://www.myneworleans.com/Louisiana-Life/

Louisiana Cookin’ Magazine - http://www.louisianacookin.com/

Louisiana Cultural Vistas Magazine - http://www.leh.org/html/lcv.html

Louisiana Film & Video Magazine - http://www.louisianafilmandvideo.com/mainLM.php

Louisiana Game & Fish Magazine - http://www.lagameandfish.com/

Louisiana Wetlands - National Geographic Magazine - http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/ngm/0410/feature5/index.html

America’s Wetlands: Campaign to Save Coastal Louisiana - www.americaswetland.com

Louisiana Wildlife Federation - http://www.lawildlifefed.org/

Voice of the Wetlands - Tab Benoit’s Organization - http://www.voiceofthewetlands.org/

Weekly New Orleans Magazine: the arts, movies, music, restaurant guide, etc. - www.gambit-no.com

Where Y’At Magazine - http://www.whereyat.com/

Arthur Hardy's Mardi Gras Guide - http://mardigrasneworleans.com/arthur/

New Orleans Metropolitan Convention & Visitors Bureau - www.nawlins.com

New Orleans Museum of Art - www.noma.org/

New Orleans Saints Football Team - www.neworleanssaints.com

New Orleans Hornets Basketball Team - www.nba.com/hornets

New Orleans Public Library - www.nutrias.org

City of Gretna – www.gretnala.com

State Library of Louisiana - www.state.lib.la.us

Historic New Orleans Collection - www.hnoc.org

Bicycle Rental Tours - www.confederacyofcruisers.com

Free Walking Tours! - www.freetoursbyfoot.com


Music Festivals: Plan your vacation round a festival!:

New Orleans & Louisiana Calendar of Upcoming Events, Music & Festivals - http://www.satchmo.com/nolavl/events.html

New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival - www.nojazzfest.com

French Quarter Festival "The biggest free music festival in the South!"- www.fqfi.org

Satchmo Festival - www.satchmosummerfest.com

New Orleans DDD Free Concerts, April-June - www.wednesdayatthesquare.com

Ponderosa Stomp - www.ponderosastomp.com

Wednesday’s On The Point - Free Evening Concerts through June & July in Algiers Point - www.wednesdaysonthepoint.com

Gretna Heritage Festival - http://www.gretnafest.com/schedule.php

Music: Blues, Jazz and Rock & Roll:

New Orleans & Louisiana music, 24 hours a day - WWOZ Radio Station over the Internet - www.wwoz.org or 90.7 FM

Joe Cushley playing "13 Bar Blues” and "Nu-Blues" on "Balling The Jack,"Tuesdays - www.resonancefm.com

Blues & Jazz on the Blues Highway - www.rootsofrhythm.com

Louisiana CDs, DVDs, vinyl, books - www.louisianamusicfactory.com

Hogan Jazz Archive - www.tulane.edu/~lmiller/JazzHome.html

Tom Morgan's great Jazz Site with good links - www.jass.com

Early Blues Recordings - www.earlyblues.com

Jazz Band Histories, 1895-1929 - www.redhotjazz.com

Blues Lyrics/Voodoo & Hoodoo - www.luckymojo.com/allblues.html

Old Time Victrola Music - www.earlyrecordings.com

20 Great Blues Makers - www.thebluehighway.com

Traditional Jazz & Ragtime Magazine - www.mississippirag.com

Louisiana Music Archive & Artist Directory - www.satchmo.com/index2.html

Jazz History, Lyrics & Bios - www.perfessorbill.com

"The Rise and Fall of Popular Music" by Donald Clarke - http://www.donaldclarkemusicbox.com/index.php

New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Foundation - www.nojhf.org

Rockabilly Hall of Fame - www.rockabillyhall.com

Rock Before Elvis - www.hoyhoy.com

Blues - www.t4p.com/blues/

Big City Rhythm & Blues Magazine - www.bigcitybluesmag.com

Living Blues Magazine - www.livingblues.com

Blues & Rhythm Magazine - http://www.bluesandrhythm.co.uk/about.html

The Blues Foundation - http://www.blues.org/

Zydeco & Cajun Music - http://home.comcast.net/~cajunzydeco/zydemagic/

Just Jazz Magazine - http://www.btinternet.com/~jazzworld/justjazz.htm

Worldwide Roots Music - www.frootsmag.com

World Music - http://www.globalrhythm.net/

British Music Hall - http://www.musicals101.com/musichall.htm

The British Music Hall Society - http://www.music-hall-society.com/

Old Timey Music - http://www.oldtimeherald.org/

Folk Music magazines - http://www.folklib.net/index/periodicals.shtml

Mississippi: The Heart of the The Blues Highway:

www.shackupinn - Accommodation in a cotton picker's shack or the Cotton Gin Inn, Clarksdale, Mississippi, deep in the heart of Blues country.

www.visitthedelta.com

www.MississippiDeltaBluesInfo.com

www.birthplaceoftheblues.com

www.blueshighway.org

www.cathead.biz


Family History:

East of London Family History Society - www.eolfhs.org.uk

The East London History Society - http://www.mernick.org.uk//elhs/

Victorian London A-Z Street Index - http://homepage.ntlworld.com/hitch/gendocs/lon-str.html#HOME

Canning Town (East London) - http://apps.newham.gov.uk/History_canningtown/index.htm

London Borough of Tower Hamlets - This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it   www.ideastore.co.uk

London Borough of Newham Archives - http://www.newham.gov.uk/Services/LibraryDetails/AboutUs/StratfordLibrary.htm

London Borough of Havering - A History of Romford - http://www.havering.gov.uk/index.aspx?articleid=7989

Berkshire (England) Family History Society - www.berksfhs.org.uk

Terrebonne Parish (Louisiana, U.S.A.) Genealogical Society - www.terrebonneparish.com/geneal.htm

Acadian-Cajun History - www.acadian-cajun.com

Cajuns - www.thecajuns.com

Cajuns - http://www.cajuncrawfishpie.com/cajun-history.html

Cajuns - http://www.acadianawakenings.com/vol1.html

Miscellaneous sites:

West Ham United Football Club - www.whufc.com

 

** Have a relaxing vacation in the French Countryside www.paradisvert.com

 

 

Guest Comments

We had a terrific time with Kevin and Wendy. Great conversation, spacious bedroom, great location and of course, Mardi Gras! We will be back soon for Jazz Fest! We had an amazing time!Thank you!

Andrew & Joyce, South River, NJ

New Orleans Buy 6 Get 7 Nights Special Offer Coupon