Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, New Orleans, Louisiana

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Links to Attractions and Events in Algiers, New Orleans, Louisiana

E-mail Print PDF

 

***Highly recommended - Try a Guided Local Tour with a licensed New Orleans tour guide -www.algierspointtours.com


Discover the history and beautiful architecture of Algiers Point and find out why we are "New Orleans' Best Kept Secret"!! Bookable online in advance, inquire for same day tours by phone at (985)381-6381.


Have a relaxing  vacation at a French countryside retreat - www.paradisvert.net

Interested in all things Algiers, New Orleans, Louisiana, Blues, Jazz, Cajun, Zydeco, Voodoo or Hoodoo? Check these sites out:


New Orleans & Louisiana:

 

Our neighborhood (includes self-guided walking tours to download) - Algiers Historical Society - www.algiershistoricalsociety.org

 

 

 

 

Our neighborhood - local businesses including the Crown & Anchor English Pub, on the next block (www.crownanchor.com) - Algiers Point Association - www.algierspoint.org

Pottery and art gallery - www.nolapotter.com - featuring 45 local artists

Things to do in New Orleans - www.zerve.com/d/new-orleans-city - all kinds of New Orleans events to participate in

 

Forthcoming Events - www.neworleansonline.com/calendar

New Orleans News & Times-Picayune Newspaper - www.nola.com

New Orleans & Louisiana Music Magazine - www.offbeat.com

New Orleans Magazine - http://www.myneworleans.com/New-Orleans-Magazine/

Louisiana Life Magazine - http://www.myneworleans.com/Louisiana-Life/

Louisiana Cookin’ Magazine - http://www.louisianacookin.com/

Louisiana Cultural Vistas Magazine - http://www.leh.org/html/lcv.html

Louisiana Film & Video Magazine - http://www.louisianafilmandvideo.com/mainLM.php

Louisiana Game & Fish Magazine - http://www.lagameandfish.com/

Louisiana Wetlands - National Geographic Magazine - http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/ngm/0410/feature5/index.html

America’s Wetlands: Campaign to Save Coastal Louisiana - www.americaswetland.com

Louisiana Wildlife Federation - http://www.lawildlifefed.org/

Voice of the Wetlands - Tab Benoit’s Organization - http://www.voiceofthewetlands.org/

Tab Benoit - http://www.tabbenoit.com/

The New Orleans Levee (We don’t hold anything back) Satirical Magazine - http://www.nolevee.com/

Weekly New Orleans Magazine: the arts, movies, music, restaurant guide, etc. - www.gambit-no.com

Where Y’At Magazine - http://www.whereyat.com/

Arthur Hardy's Mardi Gras Guide - http://mardigrasneworleans.com/arthur/

New Orleans Metropolitan Convention & Visitors Bureau - www.nawlins.com

New Orleans Museum of Art - www.noma.org/

New Orleans Saints Football Team - www.neworleanssaints.com

New Orleans Hornets Basketball Team - www.nba.com/hornets

Creole & Cajun Spices, perishable food products - www.cajunwholesale.com

New Orleans Public Library - www.nutrias.org

Everything Cajun - www.louisianacajun.com

City of Gretna – www.gretnala.com

State Library of Louisiana - www.state.lib.la.us

Historic New Orleans Collection - www.hnoc.org

Bicycle Rental Tours - www.confederacyofcruisers.com

Free Walking Tours! - www.freetoursbyfoot.com


Music Festivals:

New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival - www.nojazzfest.com

French Quarter Festival “The biggest free music festival in the South!”- www.fqfi.org

Satchmo Festival - www.satchmosummerfest.com

New Orleans DDD Free Concerts, April-June - www.wednesdayatthesquare.com

Ponderosa Stomp - www.ponderosastomp.com

Wednesday’s On The Point - Free Evening Concerts through June & July - www.wednesdaysonthepoint.com

Old Algiers Riverfest - first weekend in April - www.oldalgiersmainstreet.com

Calendar of Upcoming Events & Music Festivals, 2009 -2010

http://www.satchmo.com/nolavl/events.html

Gretna Back To The River Fall Concerts - www.gretnala.com

Gretna Heritage Festival - http://www.gretnafest.com/schedule.php

Northern Germany - Eutin Blues Festival - www.bluesfest-eutin.de


Music: Blues, Jazz and Rock & Roll:

WWOZ Radio Station over the Internet - www.wwoz.org or 90.7 FM

Joe Cushley playing “13 Bar Blues” and “Nu-Blues” on “Balling The Jack,” Tuesdays - www.resonancefm.com

Andy Kershaw's World Music Show - www.bbc.co.uk/radio3/world/andykershaw.shtml

Blues & Jazz on the Blues Highway - www.rootsofrhythm.com

Louisiana CDs, DVDs, vinyl, books - www.louisianamusicfactory.com

Hogan Jazz Archive - www.tulane.edu/~lmiller/JazzHome.html

Tom Morgan's great Jazz Site with good links - www.jass.com

Early Blues Recordings - www.earlyblues.com

Jazz Band Histories, 1895-1929 - www.redhotjazz.com

Blues Lyrics/Voodoo & Hoodoo - www.luckymojo.com/allblues.html

Old Time Victrola Music - www.earlyrecordings.com

20 Great Blues Makers - www.thebluehighway.com

Traditional Jazz & Ragtime Magazine - www.mississippirag.com

Louisiana Music Archive & Artist Directory - www.satchmo.com/index2.html

Jazz History, Lyrics & Bios - www.perfessorbill.com

"The Rise and Fall of Popular Music" by Donald Clarke - http://www.donaldclarkemusicbox.com/index.php

New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Foundation - www.nojhf.org

Rockabilly Hall of Fame - www.rockabillyhall.com

Rock Before Elvis - www.hoyhoy.com

Blues - www.t4p.com/blues/

Big City Rhythm & Blues Magazine - www.bigcitybluesmag.com

Living Blues Magazine - www.livingblues.com

Blues & Rhythm Magazine - http://www.bluesandrhythm.co.uk/about.html

The Blues Foundation - http://www.blues.org/

Zydeco & Cajun Music - http://home.comcast.net/~cajunzydeco/zydemagic/

Just Jazz Magazine - http://www.btinternet.com/~jazzworld/justjazz.htm

Worldwide Roots Music - www.frootsmag.com

World Music - http://www.globalrhythm.net/

British Music Hall - http://www.musicals101.com/musichall.htm

The British Music Hall Society - http://www.music-hall-society.com/

Old Timey Music - http://www.oldtimeherald.org/

Folk Music magazines - http://www.folklib.net/index/periodicals.shtml

Mississippi: The Heart of the The Blues Highway:

www.shackupinn - Accommodation in a cotton picker's shack or the Cotton Gin Inn, Clarksdale, Mississippi, deep in the heart of Blues country.

www.visitthedelta.com

www.MississippiDeltaBluesInfo.com

www.birthplaceoftheblues.com

www.blueshighway.org

www.cathead.biz

* Please check out the bibliography section for books on all of the above!

Family History:

East of London Family History Society - www.eolfhs.org.uk

The East London History Society - http://www.mernick.org.uk//elhs/

Victorian London A-Z Street Index - http://homepage.ntlworld.com/hitch/gendocs/lon-str.html#HOME

Canning Town (East London) - http://apps.newham.gov.uk/History_canningtown/index.htm

Tower Hamlets Local History Library and Archives

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it   www.ideastore.co.uk

London Borough of Newham Archives - http://www.newham.gov.uk/Services/LibraryDetails/AboutUs/StratfordLibrary.htm

London Borough of Havering - A History of Romford - http://www.havering.gov.uk/index.aspx?articleid=7989

Berkshire (England) Family History Society - www.berksfhs.org.uk

Terrebonne Parish (Louisiana, U.S.A.) Genealogical Society - www.terrebonneparish.com/geneal.htm

Acadian-Cajun History - www.acadian-cajun.com

Cajuns - www.thecajuns.com

Cajuns - http://www.cajuncrawfishpie.com/cajun-history.html

Cajuns - http://www.acadianawakenings.com/vol1.html

Miscellaneous sites:

Sandbach under 9’s Rugby Union Football Club - www.sandbachrufc.co.uk

West Ham United Football Club - www.whufc.com

England Football Team - www.thefa.com/England

England Rugby Team - www.england-rugby.com

Ireland Football Team - www.fai.ie

Germany Football Team - http://germanfootballteam.blogspot.com (in English)

United States Soccer Team - www.ussoccer.com

 

Guest Comments

We had a terrific time with Kevin and Wendy. Great conversation, spacious bedroom, great location and of course, Mardi Gras! We will be back soon for Jazz Fest! We had an amazing time!Thank you!

Andrew & Joyce, South River, NJ

New Orleans Buy 6 Get 7 Nights Special Offer Coupon